Holding On by Amanda Beard

As Johnny Burgess started strumming his band’s newest number one single, he wondered if the memories that caused the song to be written would ever not overwhelm him.  He knew when people listened to music, they were often transported to a significant memory.  Be it their first kiss, a break up, or even dancing to that particular song with friends.  However, in this case as the songwriter that feeling was tenfold. It transported him to five years earlier, when he had been offered a songwriting and possible record deal.

“You need to do this, I understand that.  But please understand I can’t follow you.”  Emalie Neuvirth told him.

He looked at the woman sitting on his bed, as he was packing.  Emalie was not his girlfriend in any traditional form, but he had always hoped.  The sentence she just uttered, had dashed all hope.  “Em, he was wrong.  Come with me; sing what I write, as we always have.  We can prove him wrong.”

Her eyes glistened with tears.  It was so easy for John.  He had the voice of an angel, the writing skills that could never be taught, but a God-given talent, and a stage presence that had everyone’s attention.  She had the voice, and a presence on stage, but the writing was what got him this opportunity.  Worse, the record producer had told her she didn’t have the look they wanted.  “Johnny, you don’t get it.  I could prove him wrong, and be what he wants, but I would lose me.”

“That’s impossible.  You are the strongest person I know.  You’re brilliant, and can overcome this.  Please, Emalie?”

“I will be okay.  But going with you, would not be the way.  Seeing your dreams come true, while I’m fighting and clawing and losing myself?  No, not a healthy decision.”

He sat next her, as he sighed.  “Em, what about us?  All the plans we’ve made, and dreamed about, are they done?”

She shook her head.  “What us?  We always procrastinated.  It was always a pipe dream. especially since we wouldn’t be on even footing now.  So at least we can’t burn a bridge we never built.”  She looked away and said, “I just came to say goodbye, since I’m driving home directly after graduation.” Emalie stood up and walked out of his life for good.

 

Johnny shook his head out of the reverie.  He figured writing the song would cause closure, and not make lost possibilities a fresh wound every time he performed the song.  He was wrong.

While he had not seen her in person since they graduated from college, she was in his mind on a daily basis.  It could have been a tune they were working on and her voice would have made the harmony pop. Maybe just an everyday moment where he’d turn to share a smile with her.  And then he remembered.

She may not be in his life, but from time to time a mutual friend would give him an update.  She had gone back to her home state of Louisiana and opened a flower shop.  From all accounts, Emalie had turned her back on her talent and passion for music.  That tidbit had broken his heart yet again.

He found her flower shop, and realized it was mainly funded with the money she had made singing in school, and now she gave away more flowers than she sold.  He secretly set up a weekly delivery from her shop rotating them between his mother, grandmother and sister.  It was a secret he would guard until his dying breath.

Johnny smiled at the crowd around him.  He was playing at his best friend’s wedding.  As a special request, the couple had asked him to please play his band’s newest single.  He had reminded them it was technically a break up song. They insisted, stating it was part of the reason they were finally making it down the aisle, so he reluctantly added it to the set list.

He started talking as the band started playing with the song, much like they did in a regular concert, tease the audience a little bit.  “We’ve all been in that relationship, when it’s gone you look back and wonder what went wrong? And your final conclusion is you lost your grip, either on the other’s heart, your beliefs, faith in the relationship, or maybe just yourself.  Sometimes you wonder if you even had a chance or a grip that you thought you did.  This song is for all those who wish they could still hold on.  And it is also to remind Dakota and Jayme to never lose grip to what’s important.”  John paused.  He really felt he needed to add another sentence, something he always wanted to add but this was the one place it would be safe.  It was a private party.  The chances of negative consequences were negligible. With a mental sigh, he finished his thought.  “This song is for someone special.  Em, where ever you may be, I’m sorry.”

John and the rest of the Cameos started playing the song.  If any of his bandmates had questioned his going off script, they had covered it well.  As it was every time John performed this song, he saw Emalie in the crowd.  However, this time blinking or looking away didn’t make her disappear.  The woman haunting his memories was in front of him, in a bridesmaid dress, with tears threatening to fall.

In a split second decision, John signaled to the rest of the band this song would be the last of the set.  He couldn’t concentrate on anything but her.  The song ended and he told the audience they would be back after a short break.

It took all of his self-control not to jump off the stage, and pull her into his arms.  He exited the stage with the band, ignoring their questioning looks, he went in search for a specific bridesmaid.

He found her near the exit.  “Emalie, please tell me you’re not leaving.”

She turned, the tears had dried and there was laughter in her eyes again.  “No, but I was unsure this reunion should have witnesses.”

John laughed.  “That’s a good point.  So how have you been?”

“That’s the question you ask after five years and a piss poor departure?  Yes, I was the reason it was bad, but still that is your question?”

“Not the only one, but I figured a decent ice breaker.”

“I’m good.  I’m happy in my life.  Are you?”

“In parts I am, but in two things I could be happier.”

“And those are?”

“You giving me another chance not to be afraid of mixing business and pleasure.  I know I always strayed away in school thinking there would be time later. I was wrong, and have long regretted pushing you away so much that when I was ready to pull you close it was too late.”

“Wow, John start with a big near impossible request.”  Emalie laughed, in shock.

“Of course that way the second will have a better chance of happening.”

“And that is?”

“Sing in the next set with us.  All of the songs are either covers or ones you have sang with me before.”

“John, I have not sung in five years.  That’s not part of my life, anymore.”  She whispered, almost ashamed to admit it.

“Then a set is a bit much.  One song and dinner?”

“Are you asking me out and doing a negotiation at the same time?”

John shrugged at the question.  “Yeah.  I guess I am.  You were right all those years ago, I wasted time and then lost my chance.  I don’t want that again.”

“One dinner, and can I pick the song?”

“Of course.  Name it.”

Emalie whispered a title to him.  His eyes grew large.  It was a song he wrote when they were sophomores.  “The band doesn’t know it.”

“We have done it acoustic before, in fact it was written that way.  Just once for old time’s sake?”

“For a fresh start, anything.”

Leave a comment