The Artist by Kelly Brookbank

“Why don’t we draw something like this?”  I picked up a piece of paper and a pencil and very crudely drew a small bird sitting on a branch with a few leaves coming off the branch.

“You’re really talented, you know that Maddie?”  My colleague Ashley said to me.  I blushed a little.

“I don’t know if I would say that,”  I replied.

“Ashley’s right, Maddie.  I wouldn’t be able to draw something like that if my life depended on it,”  Jennifer said.

“Thanks you guys, but I think you’re being too kind,”  I brushed them off.  “Is this what Gary was looking for?”

“Yes, I think it is exactly what he was looking for,”  Jennifer said.

Gary loved my picture and asked me to get started on the sign right away.  I was always the one that drew the pictures on the sign and inevitably received praise and compliments for my drawings.

As I walked home after work, holding my umbrella above my head, I couldn’t help but walk a little bit faster than usual.  I was so excited I was almost skipping.  The butterflies in my stomach were so intense it had almost turned to an ache.  I probably looked goofy to the people I passed on the sidewalk as the smile on my face was cemented there.

I anxiously awaited my boyfriend Bart to return to our apartment from his work.  By the time he arrived, I had supper waiting.  He hung up his coat and umbrella and came to the table.

“Smells good, honey,”  He leaned down to give me a kiss.

“Thank you, babe.  Sit down, I have something I wanted to talk to you about,”  Bart sat down and started eating.  He had a quizzical look on his face.  “So you know how I always draw the pictures on the signs at the store?”

“Yes, sort of.”  Bart answered between bites.

“Well, I’ve decided that I want to pursue my drawing a bit more seriously.”  Bart put his utensils down and rolled his eyes.  I put my hands up in defense.  “Now, I don’t mean that I’m going to quit my job or anything, I am just going to use up five of my sick days that I have banked up and focus on my drawing for a week.”

Bart looked at me.  “So you’re still going to get paid?”

“Yes, they’re sick days that I have coming to me.”  My butterflies weren’t fluttering quite as fast any more.

“Well, sure, if it’s something you want to do, go for it.  As long as it doesn’t interfere with any of your jobs you have around here.”  He took another bite of his supper.

I just looked at him.  “Thanks for the support.”  I thought.

After I cleaned up breakfast, since Bart requested bacon, eggs and pancakes because I was “taking the day off”, I was invigorated once again.  I was going to walk down to an arts store to purchase all the supplies I needed to start drawing.  I had decided to try my hand at charcoal drawing.

After I had purchased everything I needed I received a text saying, “Hey babe, can u tak my guitar 2 get restrung plz?”

“Seriously?”  I said out loud.   To myself I said, “Now I have to walk back home, pick up his guitar then walk back to the music store then walk back home.  Half my day is going to be shot.  But if I don’t do it then he’s going to be mad at me.”  I sighed

When I got back home I was so mad, I had been grumbling the whole way.  I quickly got out some materials and made an angry drawing.  Before I knew it, I had to make supper.  So much for drawing today.  Well, I still had 4 days to draw.  I guess one less day isn’t so terrible.

“Did you get my guitar re-strung?” Bart asked at supper.

“Uh-huh.”

“Thanks, hun.”

The rest of the night I was quiet.  Bart didn’t notice but I didn’t want to start a fight.  He didn’t ask about my drawing.

New day.  New beginning.  Breakfast is cleaned up.  I’m going on a quick walk to get some inspiration for pictures.  As I was tying up my shoes my phone pinged.  “Storage room could use organizing. J”  I could kill him.

I replied “I’m drawing today.”

“Priorities, my deer.”  Now I needed a walk to cool off.

My quick walk turned into a long walk.  I needed to clear my head.

When I got back home I sat on the couch, steaming.  The storage room did need to be organized.  It probably won’t take that long.  Maybe something in there will inspire me.

I ended up throwing a lot of things away, mostly in haste.  If it’s been in storage this long we probably don’t need it anyway, right?  Took me all day to get it done.  Just in time to get supper ready.

After supper I went into the bedroom to get some drawing done.  “What are you doing?”  Bart asked when he poked his head in.

“I thought I would try to do some drawing since I didn’t get any done today.”

“So you’re going to spend all night in here instead of in the living room with me?”  And he left.

I sighed and put the supplies away.

Day 3.  Today is as good as any to get started!  How about an internet search for inspiration?  Puppies, let’s do puppies!  Hmmm, let’s see…

Ping.  “What R U up 2?”  Bart texted.

Sigh.  “Drawing.”

“O.  Didnt think U wer serius about that”

“Why wouldn’t I be serious?”  I furiously texted.

“Didnt think U wer that good.”

I put my phone down.  What an ass. I was so mad. I turned on the TV to get my head on straight.

After a couple of hours and after I had calmed down I thought about it.  Maybe I’m not very good.  Why was I even doing this?  What was I thinking?  I’m so stupid.  Forget it.  Well, since I’m home I might as well clean.

After I cleaned up supper Bart suggested we go to a movie.

I stayed in my pajamas the next day, why not?  I turned on the tv after breakfast was cleaned up.  Ping!  Must be Bart.

“How’s the drawing going?  I’d love to see what you’ve done!” Ashley from work texted.

“I’ve only done 1.”

“Really?  Let’s see.”  I took a picture of my angry drawing to her and texted it to her.  “Not what I expected but still amazing!  Can’t wait to see more!”

She’s right, I am pretty good.  I’m not going to let Bart drag me down any more.

Ping!  “Can u download my cd’s on2 compter? Wnt 2 thrw out cases. Thks hun.” Texted Bart.

I balled my fists up until my nails embedded into my flesh.  Always about him.  No, I will not download your cd’s, ass hole.

I got out my supplies and started drawing.  My feelings just started exploding onto the paper.  There were more angry pictures.  There were sad pictures, profiles, animals, scenery, everything.  I just kept drawing.  It felt so good.

By the time I finally looked up it was 6 pm.  Oh no!  Bart was going to be home soon and I didn’t have supper ready.  I quickly put my supplies and pictures away, took some hamburger out and started making spaghetti.

Bart came in and I was still making supper.  “Bart!  I had the best day!  I started drawing and they just kept flowing!”

“Why isn’t supper ready?”

“That’s what I’m trying to tell you, I was drawing and…”

“So you were drawing instead of making supper?  I said you could do this only if it didn’t get in the way of your jobs around here.”  Bart threw his keys on the counter.

“Supper will be ready in 5 minutes.”

“Whatever. “ He went to the bedroom and slammed the door.

After supper Bart went out, which was fine with me.  If he looked at his computer and saw that I hadn’t downloaded the cd’s he would be even more mad.

The next morning, I left Bart’s breakfast dishes on the table, packed up my drawings and headed down to the restaurant.  The breakfast rush was over so I spread my work across one of the empty tables.

“These are amazing!”  Ashley said.

“Wow!” Jennifer commented.

My boss loved them.  Some of the customers came and were gushing over them as well.

One of the customers pulled me aside.  “You are very talented.  I would love to see more.” He handed me his card and walked away.

“OMG!” I almost shouted.

“What?”  Ashley asked as she came to see why I was so shocked.

“Look!”  I showed her his card.  He owned an art gallery.

“Are you still looking for a roommate?”  I asked Ashley.

“Finally!”  She shouted and gave me a hug.  “Let’s go get your stuff!!”

Leave a comment